Woolly Mammoths

Not quite my finest moment.

Remember, before I came out to Oklahoma, I was really excited about seeing buffalo? This was because, ahem, I thought they were…um…extinct.

Josh, realizing this needed to be addressed immediately upon my arrival last September, took me out to the Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge. It is HUGE, with over 59,000 acres of land. There are bison, elk, deer, wild hogs, a prairie dog town, longhorn cattle, not to mention tons of other animals just roaming around. You can drive through the refuge and, if you’re too enthusiastic for your own welfare, actually get out and touch one of the animals you’re that close. (I would definitely not recommend this course of action, as I myself was ferociously stared down by a furry-headed bison when I got too close in my excitement.)

There’s also Mt. Scott, which lots of people hike or bike, but you can also drive to the top if you’d rather. It’s beautiful.

Side note: Josh is clearly a crazy person.

So, I figured out why I thought buffalo/bison were extinct. I was confusing them with woolly mammoths. (Sometimes, I’m just not that bright despite what my mother used to tell me.)

NOT EXTINCT

EXTINCT

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shayla
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 12:39:12

    HAHA!!!!!! Okay so I’m glad I’m not the only person in the world that has moments like that!!!

    I will definitely add you to my list!!! 😀

    Thank you for the sweet comment about my pictures 🙂 I’m really blessed that I got to steal my Coastie away for a weekend to get that done! (Before the weekend I hadn’t seen him since he proposed in Dec. and I wont see him again until May)

    That is INSANE! I don’t know if I could go from planning a huge wedding to having to throw together something in a week- KUDOS FOR YOU!!!!

    Luckily because my fiance is a Coastie we dont have to worry about a deployment BUT I without thinking about it planned our wedding for the height of hurricane season (DUMB me!!!) We are praying that now hurricanes hit!!!!

    Reply

  2. ryan sola
    Apr 01, 2010 @ 12:16:31

    No marathons, just a 10k. Where’s my phone call with an explanation?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

